Know more

About cookies

What is a "cookie"?

A "cookie" is a piece of information, usually small and identified by a name, which may be sent to your browser by a website you are visiting. Your web browser will store it for a period of time, and send it back to the web server each time you log on again.

Different types of cookies are placed on the sites:

  • Cookies strictly necessary for the proper functioning of the site
  • Cookies deposited by third party sites to improve the interactivity of the site, to collect statistics

Learn more about cookies and how they work

The different types of cookies used on this site

Cookies strictly necessary for the site to function

These cookies allow the main services of the site to function optimally. You can technically block them using your browser settings but your experience on the site may be degraded.

Furthermore, you have the possibility of opposing the use of audience measurement tracers strictly necessary for the functioning and current administration of the website in the cookie management window accessible via the link located in the footer of the site.

Technical cookies

Name of the cookie


Shelf life

CAS and PHP session cookies

Login credentials, session security



Saving your cookie consent choices

12 months

Audience measurement cookies (AT Internet)

Name of the cookie


Shelf life


Trace the visitor's route in order to establish visit statistics.

13 months


Store the anonymous ID of the visitor who starts the first time he visits the site

13 months


Identify the numbers (unique identifiers of a site) seen by the visitor and store the visitor's identifiers.

13 months

About the AT Internet audience measurement tool :

AT Internet's audience measurement tool Analytics is deployed on this site in order to obtain information on visitors' navigation and to improve its use.

The French data protection authority (CNIL) has granted an exemption to AT Internet's Web Analytics cookie. This tool is thus exempt from the collection of the Internet user's consent with regard to the deposit of analytics cookies. However, you can refuse the deposit of these cookies via the cookie management panel.

Good to know:

  • The data collected are not cross-checked with other processing operations
  • The deposited cookie is only used to produce anonymous statistics
  • The cookie does not allow the user's navigation on other sites to be tracked.

Third party cookies to improve the interactivity of the site

This site relies on certain services provided by third parties which allow :

  • to offer interactive content;
  • improve usability and facilitate the sharing of content on social networks;
  • view videos and animated presentations directly on our website;
  • protect form entries from robots;
  • monitor the performance of the site.

These third parties will collect and use your browsing data for their own purposes.

How to accept or reject cookies

When you start browsing an eZpublish site, the appearance of the "cookies" banner allows you to accept or refuse all the cookies we use. This banner will be displayed as long as you have not made a choice, even if you are browsing on another page of the site.

You can change your choices at any time by clicking on the "Cookie Management" link.

You can manage these cookies in your browser. Here are the procedures to follow: Firefox; Chrome; Explorer; Safari; Opera

For more information about the cookies we use, you can contact INRAE's Data Protection Officer by email at or by post at :


24, chemin de Borde Rouge -Auzeville - CS52627 31326 Castanet Tolosan cedex - France

Last update: May 2021

Menu Logo Principal

Home page


Micalis Institute

13 December 2017

The Micalis Institute is a mixed research unit associating INRA and AgroParisTech. It is also included in the Paris-Saclay University project. Its mission is to develop innovative research in the field of microbiology of food for health.

The Micalis Institute merges more than 330 people including 130 scientists, engineers and scientists-teachers as well as 140 PhD students, post-doctorant fellows and other students, organized in 20 research teams and 3 thematic axes. The Micalis Institute also hosts 2 technological platforms, a yeast biological resources centre and a gnotobiotic animal facility. In addition, Micalis is also closely associated to the pre-industrial functional and quantitative metagenomics demonstrator Metagenopolis.

The three thematic axes correspond to three research priority areas in close connexion:

  • The microbial food and intestinal ecosystems and the functional interactions between food, microbiota and host
  • The emergence and control of opportunist pathogen microorganisms from food origin and the adaptation of bacteria to their environments
  • The synthetic and systemic biology

The Micalis Institute was created on  January 1st, 2010 by merging 8 food microbiology INRA laboratories located in the Ile-de-France region.

A real estate project funded in the framework of a contact between the region and the French government was unveiled in September 2014. The new building allowed the reunification of all the Micalis teams on the same INRA campus at Jouy-en-Josas.

The Micalis Institute depends on two INRA divisions: MICA (Microbiology and Food Chain) and AlimH (Human Nutrition), as well as on two AgroParisTech divisions: SVS (Life Sciences) and SPAB (Food Processes and Bioproducts) and finally on the SDV (Life Sciences) division  from Paris-Saclay University.

The Micalis Institute is currently headed by Stéphane Aymerich, assisted by 5 deputy directors: Romain Briandet, Rut Carballido-Lopez, Philippe Langella, Didier Lereclus, and Véronique Monnet.

contact :